Mailer abuse incident on last Thursday

Good day!

I am the postmaster of finlandia.infodrom.north.de which was misused
for abuse mail.

On Thursday, 02/06/97 in the morning hours (4am to 11am local time)
someone misused our mail server to send junk mail through the
internet.  The guy came from *.UU.NET.  He nearly sent 1000
mails.  At about 11am I was informed.  I have firewalled that
particular site to stop it and informed abuse@uu.net.

All the mails came from:

Name:    Cust12.Max13.San-Francisco.CA.MS.UU.NET
Address:  153.35.239.140

The originator was faked and equal to the recipant.  The guy who did
this claimed to be very clever, but wasn't.  Unfortunately I was
sleeping when he did his bad joke.

The mail was delivered to finlandia.infodrom.north.de and went out to
the receipant through gimli.Informatik.Uni-Oldenburg.DE.  It's
postmaster is informed as well.

The first was this one:

02/06/97 04:39:21: [m0vsKg6-001ZGPC] received
|            from: xxxxxxxx
|            host: fuck.com [153.35.239.140]
|        protocol: smtp
|         program: smail
|            size: 125 bytes

02/06/97 04:39:26: [m0vsKg6-001ZGPC] delivered
|             via: gimli.Informatik.Uni-Oldenburg.DE
|              to: xxxxxxxx@hipcrime.com
|         orig-to: xxxxxxxx@hipcrime.com
|          router: smart_host
|       transport: smtp

02/06/97 04:39:26: [m0vsKg6-001ZGPC] Completed.

And the last one is this one:

02/06/97 11:07:59: [m0vsQkI-001ZGsC] received
|            from: xxxxxxxx@mbox.queen.it
|            host: mbox.queen.it [153.35.239.140]
|        protocol: smtp
|         program: smail
|            size: 1264 bytes

02/06/97 11:08:06: [m0vsQkI-001ZGsC] delivered
|             via: gimli.Informatik.Uni-Oldenburg.DE
|              to: xxxxxxxx@mbox.queen.it
|         orig-to: xxxxxxxx@mbox.queen.it
|          router: smart_host
|       transport: smtp

02/06/97 11:08:06: [m0vsQkI-001ZGsC] Completed.

At that time I was informed and have firewalled them. No such mail
was received here after this action.

Regards

	Joey

-- 
  / Martin Schulze  *  joey@infodrom.north.de  *  26129 Oldenburg /
 / Germany.Net ist vergleichbar mit einem Telefon                /
/          ohne Waehlscheibe und Klingel... -- Lutz Donnerhacke /